top of page
Search
vongcongthanh94

My Summer Vacation, "Vietnam: Ho Chi Minh city Episode"

Updated: Jun 12, 2020

Vietnam is a country with many beautiful landscapes and unique cultures. This S-shaped country is also the place where I was born and raised. It is definitely a great destination for visitors.


Women carrying baskets and babies through terraced fields in Mu Cang Chai district, Yen Bai province. Source: Pinterest.


"Ho Chi Minh city - Episode"...


Summer is my favorite season of the year. It is a time when I no longer have to worry about getting up late in the morning for school, dealing with homework, or going to work every weekend. All I need to do are: pack my suitcase, grab my passport, and travel.




Ho Chi Minh city, source: Tonkinphotography


I was born and grew up in Ho Chi Minh city until I turned 20. It is always lovely to go back and visit my family every summer. As a "Saigonese", I am quite familiar with the food, culture, and language of the city, and have also witnessed so many changes it has.


Saigon, which is also another different name of Ho Chi Minh, was very different back in the 80s 90s. There was a very different Saigon. A very simple Saigon, very poetic. Everything seems to have changed very much since the global economic integration.



There was a very different Saigon in the 80s. Source: Pinterest


But I guess it is for all the best. As Saigon has become a very economically prosperous Ho Chi Minh in the current time with numerous enterprises, businesses, including restaurants, cafes, boutiques, and others. It's also the most crowding city in Vietnam that attracts millions of immigrants from other regions for education and occupation opportunities.


A typical hustle street in Ho Chi Minh city, source: Pinterest


Every time I come home, I get up very early in the morning, around 6:30 a.m. I usually go to the balcony to have some fresh air of an early morning. My neighborhood has a lot of trees and I can hear all the birds singing. From a distance, there are street food vendors full of people coming for breakfast on their way to school or work.


An early morning street food vendor

A very popular Bánh mì vendor full of people in the morning


If you are a fan of Vietnamese food, you must know Bánh Mì, which is a comfort food in Vietnam that everyone loves it. It has become a legendary food in Vietnam. And you know what, there is a Bánh Mì vendor right at the block corner where I live, and I can always have it for breakfast and never get bored.


The legendary Bánh mì, source: Pinterest



There is also a variety of Vietnamese food that I love:



Interior Decoration of Space...


As an interior design student, I always spend time wandering around and paying sophisticated attention to not only the display of the food, but also the space. I believe, visual plays an important part in determining the success of one place.


My sister and I at a cafe & restaurant, which has incredible interior decoration, in Ho Chi Minh city.



To be continued...

19 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page